Donate Button

Board of Directors 2018-2019

Ken Flannagan

Board Chair

Ken was born in Burnaby and raised throughout BC with a home base in Esquimalt where he attended school. Working for BC Hydro for 30 years in Human Resources, throughout BC, he has lived in Nanaimo for over 25 years now and has contributed a great wealth of knowledge as a volunteer to our board. Ken is thrilled with the progression of Eden Gardens, and is looking forward to further growth with the Eden Philosophy of Care. Ken enjoys spending time with his many grandchildren (9), and walking along the sea wall in Nanaimo.

Jolynn Green

Vice Chair

New to Eden Gardens Board of Directors, and current Executive Director at Community Futures- Central Island. Jolynn brings a broadly based work and academic background with a Masters of Arts Leadership and Training Royal Roads University in Victoria. She has extensive management experience, owner operated business background, coupled with widespread community involvement in Nanaimo. Jolynn's hands-on experience assisting hundreds of small business from startup to expansion and her rich and diverse work experience combined with lifelong learning has created a business acumen steeped in business, human resources, project management, organizational development and nonprofit sector management. She is an entrepreneur at heart and has been self-employed. Both Jolynn's parents, Joseph and Lillian Veitenheimer were residents of Nanaimo Travellers Lodge and her family are grateful for the care and love they received. Jolynn and her partner Tim reside in Nanoose Bay. Together they have 4 children spanning in age from 34 to 16. They are proud grandparents with the arrival of their first grand-daughter, now one. Welcome Jolynn!

Lucie Gosselin


New to Eden Gardens Board of Directors, and recently retired Partner at MNP LLP, the 5th largest accounting and professional consulting firm in Canada where she held the positions of Regional Managing Partner for advisory services in BC and Managing Partner for the Vancouver Island region. She was born in Manitoba where she lived until she moved to Vancouver Island in 1990. Lucie is a Chartered Accountant and Certified Management Consultant. She spent her professional career advising private enterprise. Lucie's professional accounting and finance background will be of significant benefit to the Board and Eden Gardens. In addition, she brings widespread experience in governance of community based organizations and crown corporations. Welcome Lucie!

Janeane Coutu

Past Chair

Born and raised in Nanaimo, Janeane has been very active in the community. From Woodlands Secondary School PAC Treasurer for 7 yrs, serving on the Nanaimo Executive Association board as a Director, to helping with many community projects since joining Rotary Club of Nanaimo in 1992. Janeane has served as a volunteer on the board of Nanaimo Travellers Lodge Society for over seven years, helping to spearhead the growth, and the Eden Philosophy of Care. Janeane enjoys gardening, reading and travel.

Sheila Anderson

Sheila hails from Scotland, and received her Civil and Common Law degrees in 1980. Sheila joined our board as a volunteer in 1987 and has served on a variety of committees. Still very active within the community, Sheila has recently made the move to Nanaimo, previously residing in Vancouver and commuting back and forth. Very active with the Port Theatre Society, Nanaimo Theatre Group and City of Nanaimo Planning Committee, she has had an impact on Nanaimo for a long while now. Her special times are spent with her family and her granddaughter, and travel and photography a close second.

Robert Grose

From Toronto to Nanaimo, Robert has been involved everywhere he goes. Having experience with community fundraising through the Vancouver Island Symphony, and the Port Theatre, Robert has been indispensable as a fundraiser for Eden Gardens, and has been a volunteer on the board since 2010. Always willing to lend a hand, Robert has pulled together support from many areas in the community, often as the organizer of special functions. With a background in investment planning, he has helped generate funds from community partners, and is always willing to speak on behalf of Eden Gardens. Robert enjoys spending time travelling and with his family and grandchildren.

Denise Wittkofski

Hailing from Pittsburgh, PA, Denise started with Nanaimo Travellers Lodge Society as a volunteer, helping with events, communication and fund development functions. Denise joined the board as a volunteer in 2017, and continues to help raise funds and champion the Eden Philosophy of Care. Now a full-time resident of Nanaimo, she has joined Rotary, and continues to give to the community. Her love of travel and reading fills her life with new outlets for her unbridled energy.

Ginny York

Starting out in Ontario, Ginny has definitely found her home in Sidney BC. She has joined our board as a volunteer in 2017 with great experience in the health care industry, most recently as an Administrator for a Care Home in Victoria. Ginny brings a great perspective to her role on our board, and her experience with dementia, both personally and professionally, aid her in guiding us through our Eden journey.

Chyna Lines

Chyna Lines

Driven by a passion for volunteer work, our newest board member Chyna, a lawyer with Heath Law, has lived in Nanaimo most of her life. She enjoys helping her community, and has volunteer experience in homeless outreach, student legal services, event assistance, and legal advice clinics. She is very excited about the opportunity to leverage her experience in the challenging health care industry. Her contribution will be of significant value as we move forward on our Eden Journey.

Travelling, kayaking, baking and yoga are some of her pastimes, while spending time with her family and two dogs are her greatest pleasures. Chyna is a welcome addition to our volunteer board of directors.

How Board Members are Chosen

Individuals are elected to the Board. If a vacancy exists, or is anticipated, the Board will conduct a review to determine the additional skill set that is needed on the Board. Individual Board members will then contact individuals within the community who possess that skill set. Nominations are made to the Annual General Meeting of the NTLS and individuals are elected to fill the vacancy. Between Annual General Meetings, the Board may appoint volunteers to fill vacancies when necessary.

Minutes of our 2018 AGM 2018 AGM Minutes

Eden Gardens
1917 Northfield Road, Nanaimo, BC V9S 3B6
Eden Gardens
(250) 758-4676